The Bazaar of Bad Dreams by Stephen King


Goodreads Average Rating: 
3.96 out of 5

“I’ve made some things for you, Constant Reader; you see them laid out before you in the moonlight. But before you look at the little handcrafted treasures I have for sale, let’s talk about them for a bit, shall we? It won’t take long. Here, sit down beside me. And do come a little closer. I don’t bite. Except…we’ve known each other for a very long time, and I suspect you know that’s not entirely true. Is it?” – Stephen King, The Bazaar of Bad Dreams: Introduction

51tR6+p5KSL._SX323_BO1,204,203,200_I am new to the world of Stephen King but what I have read so far I have enjoyed. I first stepped into the world of the ‘King’ in 2015 when I read his novel Revival. The book was something that intrigued me from the first page and kept me flipping. When I found The Bazaar of Bad Dreams at my local Kmart I took it right off the shelf and brought it home with me. I didn’t bother a glance inside or at the blurb to see what it had to offer. All I knew was that I wanted to explore another world just like the one Stephen King had provided in Revival. (I didn’t even realise till I got home that the book was a collection of short stories.)

Some readers think that buying a book without looking it up or at least having a glance through to see if it is something that would interest you is silly. Normally I would agree with those readers, since I am a cautious reader. However, reading Revival introduced me to a whole knew author who I knew existed but had never explored. The end of Revival left me wanting more of Stephen King’s work and that desire came flooding back when The Bazaar of Bad Dreams appeared.

I am pleased to say that it didn’t disappoint. I wasn’t left sitting in my room at 2 am wondering why I wasted my money. I wasn’t thinking why didn’t I look it up first. I was left sitting on my train halfway between Laverton and Newport sad that it had come to an end. This collection of shorts stories sent me through a whirlwind of emotions from immensely intrigued to snorting with laughter. I loved Stephen King’s dark humour and plot twists; his cliff-hanger endings were exciting and left me with a fun cluster of built up curiosity.

Putting the book down at night to sleep, or closing the book and putting it away to get off the train was hard. I love it when a book pulls me in so much that I just can’t get enough of it. It is hard to find a book that keeps me wanting more. In this case it is an author I want more of and cannot wait to pick up more and more of Stephen King’s books.

Leave a Reply

